The Cover-Ups at the Warped Tour in 2000

The Cover-Ups at the Warped Tour in 2000

The Cover-Ups are an 8-piece, all-girl ska, reggae & rocksteady band from Los Angeles, California that originally formed in 1998. Their sound includes elements of traditional ska, 2-Tone ska, rocksteady, reggae, and soul. Having not played together in over a decade, the ladies have recently reunited to bring their unique style and sound back to the current music scene. Today, the band consists of a fusion of the musical talents of the shared members from The Cover-Ups, The Twi-Lites & Tight Spot.

Over the years, the girls have played with bands such as Dave Wakeling from The English Beat, Neville Staple from The Specials, The Slackers, The Aggrolites, The Rhythm Doctors, Dave Hillyard and the Rocksteady 7, Chris Murray, The Inciters, and Seespot. The Cover-Ups also captivated audiences during the Anaheim date of the 2000 Warped Tour, and have performed live on the KUCI radio show Ska Parade.

From the beginning, music fans have enjoyed the feminine touch of the sweet vocal harmonies and the melodic horn lines, along with the strong and steady rhythm section. The energy of their live performances and their catchy original songs makes everyone want to get up and dance! In addition to their astounding musical flair, their 60’s fashion sense adds to their visual charisma…completing the style distinctive of The Cover-Ups that is sure to entertain and delight.


The Cover-Ups Current Band Lineup:

Gina Rodriguez (guitar), Nessa Roffredo (keyboard), Nina Cole (drums), Lauren Lepire (vocals), Cris Verso (vocals), Sarah Lundeen (sax, guitar), Amanda Kaay (sax, vocals) and Mini Kurhan (bass).

Original Cover-Ups lineup (1998-2000):

Mini Kurhan (bass), Cris Verso (vocals), Stacey Iguchi (vocals), Amanda Kaay (sax), Gina Rodriguez (guitar), Nina Cole (drums), Lauren Lepire (keyboard) and Sarah Lundeen (sax).

Original Twi-Lites lineup (2001-2002):

Lauren Lepire, Cris Verso, Nessa Roffredo, Stephanie Rose, Michelle Ferguson, Rosie Martin, Gina Rodriguez, Sarah Lundeen

Original Tight Spot lineup (2002-2004):

Lauren Lepire, Nessa Roffredo, Stephanie Rose, Nina Cole, Sarah Lundeen